Казань

Kazan

COORDINATES: 55°47 N 49°10 E

AREA: 425.3 sq. km.

TIME ZONE: MSK (UTC + 3)

Kazan is the capital of the Republic of Tatarstan, third capital of Russia; it’s one of the largest economic, scientific and cultural centres in the country. It is located in the European part of Russia, 820 kilometres to the east of Moscow. About 1.2 million people – representatives of over 100 nationalities – live in Kazan in the atmosphere of cultural, religious and linguistic diversity. The city celebrated its 1,000th anniversary in 2005.

Kazan and students

There are all the reasons to call the thousand-year-old Kazan a ‘young’ city. There are nearly 200,000 students from 67 countries studying in Kazan; some of Russia’s top higher education institutions are concentrated here, among them Kazan (Volga Region) Federal University, Tupolev Kazan National Research Technical University and Kazan National Research Technological University.

Kazan and culture

The thousand-year-old Kazan has a busy cultural life. Such cultural events as the Feodor Chaliapin International Opera Festival, Rudolph Nureyev International Ballet Festival, White Lilac International Festival named after Sergey Rachmaninov, Kazan Autumn International Open Air Opera Festival, Aksenov-fest Literature Festival, and International Festival of Muslim Cinema have already become annual for Kazan. There are 9 theatres, 34 state museums, privately owned art galleries, Saidashev State Big Concert Hall and 2 philharmonics.

Kazan and innovations

The city’s economics follows an innovative way of development; Idea Technopark, one of the largest technoparks in Europe, and the biggest IT centre in Russia – IT Park – have been successfully operating for several years in Kazan. Innopolis, a science city for IT specialists and the first city in Russia’s modern history to be constructed completely from scratch, was built near Kazan and is about to become the country’s leading centre in the field of information technologies.

Kazan and infrastructure

Staging of the one-thousandth anniversary, followed by preparation for the 2013 Summer Universiade, transformed Kazan beyond recognition. 30 new sports venues were built for the Universiade, including Kazan Arena Stadium, Aquatics Palace, Volleyball Centre, Gymnastics Centre, Ak Bars Martial Arts Palace and Universiade Village. A new airport terminal, high-speed train connecting the airport and city centre, new hotels and traffic interchanges were built, the railway station was renovated, city roads were reconstructed, new metro stations were opened.

In 2015, city parks were improved and their development concept, as well as the Kremlin embankment, made them residents’ and guests’ centre of attraction.  Thanks to this work, the city has acquired an integral and attractive appearance of a thriving megalopolis, which is noted both by Kazan residents and visitors to the capital.

Kazan and tourism

Today Kazan is one of the most visited cities in Russia. There are over 150 places of accommodation in Kazan, 14 of which were opened in 2013, 19 – in 2014, and 6 – in 2015. Capabilities of the city in the field of hospitality make it possible to hold large-scale international competitions on the highest level.

Kazan and sports

In 2009, Kazan was recognized as the ‘Sports Capital of Russia’. The city rightly and proudly bears this name, being a driving force for Russian sports development. Kazan is home to many award-winning athletes and sports clubs that participate in international competitions. The Rubin Football Club, Ak Bars Hockey Club, Zenit and Dynamo Volleyball Clubs, UNICS Basketball Club, and the Sintez Water Polo Club are the clubs whose names speak for themselves far beyond the country.

The fact that Kazan is a sports city is also confirmed by active participation of its residents in grassroots activities (Ski Track of Russia, Cross-Country Race of the Nation) and football (Leather Ball), hockey (Golden Puck), volleyball and other competitions that bring together tens of thousands of sports lovers throughout the country.

Staging of the 27th Summer Universiade has given a new impetus to the development of children’s, youth and university sports not only in Kazan, but all over Russia. The Universiade was staged to the highest possible organisational standard and was dubbed as the best ‘World University Summer Games’ ever. Kazan has become a well recognizable city on the international sporting scene and an attractive place for hosting sporting events of all sizes.

In the summer of 2015, Kazan hosted one more major event – the 16th FINA World Championships – which became record-breaking in terms of the number of participating countries and cumulative TV audience. Apart from high-profile projects, Kazan regularly stages national and international sporting events at its venues. In 2017, together with Moscow, Saint Petersburg and Sochi Kazan will play host to matches of the FIFA Confederations Cup and in 2018 the city is also in the list of 11 Russian cities for matches of the FIFA World Cup.

The city’s achievements in the field of event management were more than once acknowledged with prestigious awards. On 6 November, 2013, at the 7th International Sports Event Management Awards (ISEM) in London, UK, Kazan became winner in the Highly Commended Sport City category. In 2014, during the SportAccord International Convention in Belek, Turkey, SportsBusiness International magazine presented Tatarstan’s capital with the Best Newcomer award.

On February 9, 2016, Kazan was selected as the host city for the Sixth International Conference of Ministers and Senior Officials Responsible for Physical Education and Sport (MINEPS VI). The UNESCO Secretariat made this decision based on the Tatarstan capital’s experience of hosting major world-level sporting events and high assessment of the city’s abilities to stage high-profile international forums.

Казань

Казань

КООРДИНАТЫ: 55°47 N 49°10 E

ПЛОЩАДЬ: 425.3 кв. км.

ЧАСОВОЙ ПОЯС: MSK (UTC + 3)

Казань – столица Республики Татарстан, третья столица России, один из крупнейших экономических, научных и культурных центров в стране. Она расположена в европейской части России, в 820 км к востоку от Москвы, в месте слияния рек Волги и Камы. В гармонии культурного, религиозного и языкового многообразия в городе живет 1,2 млн. человек – представители более 100 национальностей. В 2005 году Казань отпраздновала свое 1000-летие.

Казань студенческая

Тысячелетнюю Казань по праву можно назвать «молодой», это один из главных студенческих городов России. В столице Татарстана обучается около 200 тысяч студентов из 67 стран, здесь же расположены крупнейшие вузы России: Казанский (Приволжский) федеральный университет, Казанский национальный исследовательский технический университет имени А.Н.Туполева и Казанский национальный исследовательский технологический университет.

Казань культурная

Культурная жизнь тысячелетней столицы Татарстана не менее разнообразна. Ежегодно в Казани проводятся крупные международные фестивали: международный оперный фестиваль имени Ф.И.Шаляпина, фестивали классического балета имени Р.Нуриева, классической музыки имени С.В.Рахманинова, литературный фестиваль «Аксёнов-фест» и международный фестиваль мусульманского кино. В Казани открыты для посещения 9 театров, 34 государственных музея, частные галереи, Государственный Большой концертный зал имени С.Сайдашева и 2 филармонии.

Казань инновационная

В инновационном русле развивается экономика, несколько лет на территории города успешно функционирует один из крупнейших в Европе технопарков – «Идея» и крупнейший в России парк информационных технологий – «IT Park». Рядом с Казанью построен первый для России город в новом столетии – Иннополис, который вместе с одноименным университетом в будущем должен стать ведущим центром в области информационных технологий.

Казань инфраструктурная

Проведение 1000-летия города, а затем подготовка Всемирной летней универсиады 2013 года позволили Казани преобразиться до неузнаваемости. К Всемирным студенческим играм были возведены 30 новых спортивных и социальных объектов, в числе которых такие, как стадион «Казань Арена», Дворец водных видов спорта, Центр волейбола, Центр гимнастики, Дворец единоборств, Деревня атлетов. Построены новый терминал аэропорта, интермодальная ветка, соединившая аэропорт и центр города, новые отели, транспортные развязки. Реконструирован железнодорожный вокзал, городские дороги, открыты новые станции метро.

Открытие Кремлевской набережной и реализация новой концепции развития городских парков, стартовавшая в 2015 году, сделали их любимыми местами отдыха горожан. Благодаря этой работе Казань приобрела целостный и привлекательный облик цветущего мегаполиса, что, безусловно, отмечают и казанцы, и гости столицы.

Казань гостеприимная

Сегодня Казань один из самых посещаемых туристами городов России. В городе функционируют более 150 средств размещения, 14 из которых открылись в 2013 году, 19 – в 2014 году, еще 6 – в 2015-м. Возможности Казани в сфере организации гостеприимства позволяют организовывать на высоком уровне крупные международные мероприятия.

Казань спортивная

В 2009 году Казань была признана спортивной столицей России. Город по праву носит это звание, выступая локомотивом развития российского спорта. Казань является домом для многих титулованных спортсменов и спортивных клубов, уверенно выступающих на соревнованиях международного уровня. Футбольный клуб «Рубин», хоккейный «Ак Барс», волейбольные «Зенит» и «Динамо», баскетбольный УНИКС, ватерпольный «Синтез» – клубы, чьи имена известны далеко за пределами страны.

О том, что Казань – спортивный город, свидетельствует и активное участие ее жителей в массовых стартах («Лыжня России», «Кросс наций») и спортивных соревнованиях по футболу («Кожаный мяч»), хоккею («Золотая шайба»), волейболу и др., охватывающих десятки тысяч любителей спорта.

Проведение XXVII Всемирной летней универсиады 2013 года в Казани стало новым импульсом для развития детского, молодежного и студенческого спорта не только в городе и республике, но и по всей России. Соревнования прошли на высочайшем организационном уровне и были признаны лучшими в истории универсиад. После Всемирных студенческих игр Казань стала хорошо узнаваемым городом на мировой арене и привлекательным местом для проведения спортивных мероприятий различного уровня.

Летом 2015 года в столице Татарстана прошло еще одно крупное событие – чемпионат мира ФИНА по водным видам спорта, который стал рекордным по количеству стран-участниц и по суммарной телеаудитории. Помимо статусных проектов, Казань в настоящее время регулярно принимает на своих спортивных объектах российские и международные турниры различного масштаба. В 2017 году наряду с Москвой, Санкт-Петербургом и Сочи Казань проведет матчи Кубка Конфедераций FIFA, а 2018 году в числе одиннадцати российских городов примет матчи чемпионата мира по футболу FIFA.

Заслуги Казани в области организации статусных спортивных мероприятий были не раз отмечены в рамках престижных премий. 6 ноября 2013 года в Лондоне, на 7-й церемонии вручения международной премии за достижения в области спортивного менеджмента International Sports Event Management Awards-2013 (ISEM), Казань победила в номинации «Наиболее рекомендуемое место в мире для проведения международных спортивных событий». В 2014 году на международной конвенции SportAccord в турецком городе Белек журнал «SportBusiness International» присудил столице Татарстана победу в номинации «Прорыв года».

9 февраля 2016 года Казань была выбрана местом проведения Шестой Международной конференции министров и высших должностных лиц, ответственных за физическое воспитание и спорт (МИНЕПС VI). Оценочная комиссия ЮНЕСКО приняла это решение, основываясь на богатом опыте столицы Татарстана по проведению крупных международных спортивных соревнований и высокой оценке возможностей города для принятия престижных многонациональных форумов.