Russia

Russia

Russia is the largest country in the world, covering more than one-eighth of the Earth’s inhabited land area. It extends across the entirety of northern Asia and 40% of the territory of Europe, spanning eleven time zones and incorporating a wide range of climatic zones and landforms.

Russia has the world’s largest reserves of mineral and energy resources and is considered one of the largest producers of oil and natural gas globally. The population of Russia is approximately 146 million people, which makes it the ninth most populous nation in the world.

Russia is a democratic country with a strong and effective federal government. It comprises 85 federal regions. Russian is the state language, which is widespread throughout the entire country and brings together people from more than 190 ethnic groups.  

Russia is a permanent member of the United Nations Security Council, a member of the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC), the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO), the World Trade Organisation (WTO), and is a leading member of the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS). Being the UNESCO member country since 1954, the Russian Federation actively implements projects in the field of physical education, science and culture.

Development of physical education and sport is a top priority of the country’s social policy. The Russian government has launched sports federal target programmes aimed at developing both high-performance and grassroots sports, modernising children’s sports schools and providing them with equipment and gear, creating regional centres for sports reserve development, and constructing budget-friendly sports venues that will provide Russian citizens with the opportunity to practice sports.

Russia annually hosts a number of major grassroots sports activities, such as the Cross-Country Race of the Nation, Ski Track of Russia, Golden Puck and Leather Ball, as well as Spartakiades for different groups of population – students, young people, working teams, disabled people and retirees. Compared with the year 2008, the share of population regularly practicing physical activities and sports increased twice and reached 43 million people.

On September 1, 2014, the Russian government launched implementation of the Russian National GTO (the Russian acronym for the ‘Ready for Labour and Defence’ slogan) Health and Fitness Programme, or the GTO complex. The complex consists of standards for the physical development and preparedness of people across various age groups. Since the signing of the executive order on revival of the GTO complex, up to 2 mln people took GTO tests, of them over 550,000 people have obtained the excellence pins for the successful tests performance.

In view of positive social benefits of hosting sporting events such as development of sports infrastructure, promotion of healthy lifestyles and engagement of different groups of society in sports, the federal government invests considerable efforts in the delivery of major international events in Russia. This was evidenced by successful implementation of a whole number of high-profile sports projects: the 27th Summer Universiade (2013) in Kazan, the Winter Olympic and Paralympic Games (2014) in Sochi, the 16th FINA World Championships and 16th FINA World Masters Championships (2015) in Kazan, and the IIHF Ice Hockey World Championships (2016) in Moscow. Even more, in 2017 the FIFA Confederations Cup was held in Moscow, Saint Petersburg, Sochi and Kazan, and in 2018 eleven Russian cities will play host to the FIFA World Cup.

In autumn 2015, Russia submitted a bid to host the Sixth International Conference of Ministers and Senior Officials Responsible for Physical Education and Sport (MINEPS VI). Russia’s bid was approved in February 2016. The sports capital of the Russian Federation, Kazan (Republic of Tatarstan), was selected as the host city for the upcoming conference.

Россия

Россия

Россия – самая большая страна мира, занимающая более 1/8 территории суши. Она простирается по всей северной Азии и занимает 40% территории Европы, охватывает 11 часовых поясов, характеризуется значительным разнообразием климатических зон и ландшафтов.

Россия обладает крупнейшими в мире запасами минеральных и энергетических ресурсов и считается одним из ведущих производителей энергии. Население страны составляет около 146 млн. человек, благодаря чему Россия занимает девятое место в мире по численности населения.

Россия – демократическая страна с сильным и эффективным федеральным правительством. В состав Российской Федерации входят 85 субъектов федерации. Государственным языком является русский язык, который распространен во всех регионах страны и объединяет представителей более 190 национальностей. 

Россия является постоянным членом Совета Безопасности ООН, АТЭС, ШОС, ВТО, ведущим членом СНГ. Будучи страной-участницей ЮНЕСКО с 1954 года, Российская Федерация активно реализует проекты в области образования, науки и культуры.

Развитие спорта является одним из приоритетных направлений социальной политики России.  Запущенные федеральные целевые программы в области спорта нацелены как на развитие спорта высших достижений, так и массового спорта, модернизацию детских спортивных школ и оснащение их оборудованием и инвентарём, создание региональных центров подготовки спортивного резерва, а также строительство доступных спортивных объектов, которые обеспечат гражданам возможность заниматься спортом.

В стране ежегодно проводятся крупные физкультурно-спортивные мероприятия, такие как «Кросс нации», «Лыжня России», «Золотая шайба», «Кожаный мяч», а также линейка спартакиад среди различных групп населения – учащихся, молодёжи, трудовых коллективов, жителей сельских регионов, инвалидов и пенсионеров. По сравнению с 2008 годом доля граждан, систематически занимающихся физической культурой и спортом, выросла в два раза и достигла 43 миллионов человек. 

С 1 сентября 2014 года в России стартовало внедрение Всероссийского физкультурно-спортивного комплекса «Готов к труду и обороне» (ГТО). В рамках реализации комплекса ГТО предусмотрено выполнение гражданами страны различных видов испытаний в ряде возрастных групп. С момента подписания указа о возрождении комплекса порядка 700 тысяч человек приняло участие в сдаче испытаний ГТО, из них почти половина уже получила знаки отличия за успешное выполнение нормативов.

Принимая во внимание положительные социальные эффекты от проведения соревнований, такие как развитие спортивной инфраструктуры, популяризация здорового образа жизни и рост вовлеченности в спорт разных категорий населения, федеральное правительство прикладывает значительные усилия для проведения крупных международных мероприятий на территории страны. Неоспоримым доказательством тому является успешная реализация целого ряда статусных спортивных проектов: в 2013 году Казань приняла XXVII Всемирную летнюю универсиаду, в 2014 году в Сочи прошли зимние Олимпийские и Паралимпийские игры, в 2015 году в Казани состоялся 16-й чемпионат мира ФИНА по водным видам спорта и чемпионат мира в категории «Мастерс», а в 2016 году в Москве проводился чемпионат мира по хоккею. Более того, в 2017 году Москва, Санкт-Петербург, Сочи и Казань примут матчи Кубка Конфедераций FIFA, а в 2018 году сразу в одиннадцати российских городах пройдет чемпионат мира по футболу FIFA.

В октябре 2015 года Россия подала заявку на проведение Шестой Международной конференции министров и высших должностных лиц, ответственных за физическое воспитание и спорт (МИНЕПС VI). Положительное решение по российской заявке было принято 9 февраля 2016 года. Городом-организатором очередного заседания была выбрана спортивная столица России – Казань (Республика Татарстан).